A backer rod is a round, compressible foam cord pressed into a joint before the sealant, so the sealant bonds to the two joint faces only and cures to the depth and hourglass shape the joint design calls for.
Joint design runs in a fixed order: width from the anticipated movement, depth from the width, rod diameter from the width. A manufacturer rule sets the width at no less than 4 times the movement and no less than 6 mm (1/4 in) for a ±25 % sealant. ASTM C1330-23 specifies the backing as Type C, O or B, and ASTM C1193-25 guides the use of the sealant over it. Joint backing is one of the product classes in this reference of construction chemicals.
The sections below cover rod types, the two-sided mechanism, uses, properties, standards, sizing with a worked 18 mm joint and a rod chart from 6.4 to 76.2 mm (1/4 to 3 in), installation, inspection, safety, dated costs, alternatives and sourcing.
Standards, codes and regulations are checked against their issuing bodies, product values against the named data sheet and prices against the dated source named in the sentence; see our methodology and fact-checking.
The summary table below lists the joint design values a specifier checks first, each with its source.
| Attribute | Value (source) |
|---|---|
| Backing standard | ASTM C1330-23, Type C closed cell, Type O open cell, Type B bi-cellular |
| Sealant use guide | ASTM C1193-25 (field adhesion hand-pull test in Appendix X1) |
| Joint width guide | ASTM C1472-16(2022): movement, tolerances and other effects |
| Width rule | at least 4 x anticipated movement and at least 6 mm (1/4 in) for a ±25 % sealant (Pecora Synthacalk GC2 data sheet) and a Class 35 sealant (Tremco Vulkem 45SSL data sheet) |
| Depth rule | depth = width below 13 mm (1/2 in), minimum 6 x 6 mm (1/4 x 1/4 in); about half the width for 13 to 25 mm (1/2 to 1 in), maximum 13 mm (1/2 in) (Tremco Vulkem 45SSL data sheet) |
| Rod oversize | 25 to 50 % larger than the joint width (Nomaco SOF Rod data sheet); about 25 % (Pecora) |
| Installation temperature | seal at the mid-range of joint movement (Sika joint sealing guide) |
| Europe | EN 15651-1:2012 classifies the sealant; the IVD metric table sets depth by width |
What Is Sealant Joint Design, and What Does a Backer Rod Do?#
Sealant joint design fixes three dimensions before any sealant is chosen: the joint width that the expected movement needs, the sealant depth that suits that width, and the backing that holds the sealant at that depth. ASTM C1330-23 section 1.2 gives the backing three functions: it sets the sealant depth and shape factor, it acts as a bond breaker so the sealant adheres to the two joint faces only, and it stops the sealant flowing through the joint. In UK usage the same product is a backing rod.
Bond breaker tape is the second backing product, an adhesive-backed polyethylene tape for joints too shallow for a rod. A rod is not a joint filler, which fills a concrete joint full depth. Both sit beside the sealant chemistries on the hub for construction sealants.
Backer rod types: closed-cell, open-cell and bi-cellular#
ASTM C1330-23 recognizes three types of cylindrical sealant backing: Type C closed cell, Type O open cell and Type B bi-cellular. The three types differ in foam and in the joints they suit, as listed below.
- Type C, closed cell: closed-cell polyethylene or polyolefin foam; FHWA HIF-18-019 (2019) calls for a closed-cell, non-absorptive rod in pavement joints.
- Type O, open cell: open-cell polyurethane foam, used where the sealant maker specifies it, as with DOWSIL 790 silicone.
- Type B, bi-cellular: polyethylene or polyolefin foam; the Nomaco SOF Rod is a Type B rod whose data sheet excludes hot-applied sealants.
The letter B stands for bi-cellular and has no link to butyl sealants.
Regional names: backing rod, Hinterfüllprofil and PE foam rod#
The backing has four common names that describe the same product, listed by market in the table below.
| Name | Region |
|---|---|
| backer rod, foam backer rod | US |
| backing rod | UK |
| Hinterfüllprofil, Rundschnur | Germany |
| PE foam rod | India (trade usage) |
Every name refers to a round foam backing, and the ASTM C1330-23 type letter states its cell structure.
How Does a Two-Sided Sealant Joint Work?#
A moving sealant joint works because the sealant bonds to two opposite faces only, so the bead stretches when the joint opens and bulges when it closes. A third bond to the joint bottom, called three-sided adhesion, restrains the bead, and cohesive tearing of the sealant is the failure that follows. The rod or a bond breaker tape prevents that third bond.
The rod also gives the bead its hourglass profile. Tooling presses the sealant against the round rod, so the bead is thick where it bonds to each face and thin at its center. Shape factor is the name for the width-to-depth ratio of that bead, set at 2:1 or 1:1 by the backing. Three faults defeat the two-sided joint: a missing bond breaker, a bead deeper than the width rule allows, and a bead thinner than 6 mm (1/4 in).
Where Are Backer Rods and Bond Breakers Used?#
Backer rods and bond breakers are used wherever an elastomeric sealant bridges a moving joint between two substrates: concrete, masonry, precast panels, metal, glass and stone. ASTM C1193-25 sets the scope for cold liquid-applied sealants: buildings, plazas, decks and pavements other than highways, airfields and bridges. It excludes structural glazing (C1401), insulating-glass edge seals (C1249) and acoustic sealants (C919). Five application groups are listed below.
- Facade and masonry joints between brick, block, stone and precast panels, the joints treated under masonry waterproofing.
- Parking deck and ramp joints that take an elastomeric sealant over a rod, while hard-wheel floor joints take no rod; see parking structure waterproofing.
- Plaza joints inside the ASTM C1193-25 scope, detailed with traffic coatings for parking decks and plazas.
- Perimeter and slab joints in balcony and terrace waterproofing systems.
- Joints on bridges, tunnels and marine structures, where highway and bridge joints fall outside both ASTM C920-18(2024) and C1193-25 and follow agency guidance.
Which Properties Define a Backer Rod?#
Six properties describe a backer rod under ASTM C1330-23: water absorption, density, outgassing, compression deflection, compression recovery and tensile strength. The specification names these properties and their test methods, but it does not cover compatibility between rod and sealant. The table below gives the published values of one Type B rod, the Nomaco SOF Rod, with each test method as reported on its data sheet.
| Property | Test (as on data sheet) | Product value (Nomaco SOF Rod data sheet, edition not stated) |
|---|---|---|
| Density | ASTM D1622 | 28.8 to 40.0 kg/m³ (1.8 to 2.5 lb/ft³) |
| Outgassing | ASTM C1253 | < 1 bubble |
| Compression recovery | ASTM D5249 | > 95 % |
| Compression deflection | ASTM D5249 | 8.3 kPa (1.2 psi) |
| Tensile strength | ASTM D3575 | 299 kPa (43.4 psi) |
| Water absorption | ASTM C1016 Procedure B | < 0.03 g/cm³ |
| Service temperature | data sheet | -42.8 to 71.1 °C (-45 to 160 °F) |
Values of one Type B rod from its data sheet; ASTM C1330-23 sets the list of properties, not these numbers.
Standard requirement or data-sheet value: reading backer rod numbers#
ASTM C1330-23 names the properties and test methods; the numbers on a rod data sheet are what one product reached. A recovery above 95 % and outgassing below 1 bubble describe the SOF Rod, so a specification compares each rod's data sheet against the property list rather than copying one product's figures as limits. Compatibility between the rod and the sealant is a separate check by ASTM C1087, outside the scope of C1330-23.
Which Standards Govern Joint Design? ASTM and EN Side by Side#
Four ASTM documents govern joint design: C1330-23 for the backing, C1193-25 for sealant use, C1472-16(2022) for joint width and C1521-19(2025) for field adhesion. Europe classifies the sealant under EN 15651-1:2012 and ISO 11600:2002 + Amd 1:2011 and dimensions the joint from industry tables such as the IVD depth table. The table below sets the US and European documents side by side with their editions and status.
| Region | Document (edition) | Covers | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| US | ASTM C1330-23 | cylindrical sealant backing, Types C, O, B | active; supersedes C1330-18 |
| US | ASTM C1193-25 | use of cold liquid-applied joint sealants; Appendix X1 hand-pull test | active (updated 2025-04-08); C1193-16(2023) historical |
| US | ASTM C1472-16(2022) | movement, tolerances and joint width | active |
| US | ASTM C1521-19(2025) | field adhesion of installed weatherproofing sealant joints | active |
| US | ASTM D5249-10(2021) | backer for cold- and hot-applied pavement joint sealants, Types I, II, III | active |
| US | ASTM C920-18(2024) | elastomeric sealants, Classes 100/50 to 12.5 | active |
| EU | EN 15651-1:2012 | facade sealants; classes to 25LM and 25HM | harmonized under CPR 305/2011; 2017 edition current at CEN; AVCP system 3 |
| International | ISO 11600:2002 + Amd 1:2011 | sealant classification | confirmed 2025 |
| Germany | IVD Merkblatt depth table | sealant depth by joint width | industry association guidance |
| US | FHWA HIF-18-019 (2019); ACI PRC-302.1-15; ACI PRC-224.3-95 (reapproved 2013) | pavement joints; floor joints; joints in concrete construction | agency and ACI guides |
ASTM C1330-23 Types C, O and B#
ASTM C1330-23 is the current specification for cylindrical sealant backing used with cold liquid-applied sealants and supersedes C1330-18. The ASTM C1330-23 catalogue entry lists the three types and the tests for water absorption, density, outgassing, compression deflection and recovery and tensile strength, while compatibility testing by ASTM C1087 stays outside the specification. Pavement joints have a second backer standard: ASTM D5249-10(2021) covers backer material, as rod or strip, for cold- and hot-applied sealants in portland-cement concrete and asphalt pavement joints, in Types I, II and III.
Sealant movement classes that set the joint width#
The sealant's movement class sets the multiplier between anticipated movement and joint width. Two classification systems rate that movement, as listed below.
- US: ASTM C920 elastomeric joint sealants are rated in Classes 100/50, 50, 35, 25 and 12.5 under C920-18(2024), with movement tested to ASTM C719-22 (Hockman cycle); C920 excludes highway, airfield and bridge joints.
- Europe and international: EN 15651 and ISO 11600 sealant classification classes top out at 25 (25LM and 25HM), with no 1:1 mapping to the C920 classes.
The table below gives one declared movement per sealant chemistry, each from a named product data sheet.
| Sealant chemistry | Example declared movement | Product (data sheet, edition) |
|---|---|---|
| polyurethane sealants | ±35 % (ASTM C920 Class 35) | Sikaflex-1A (Sika data sheet, edition not stated) |
| silicone sealants | +100/-50 % (Class 100/50) | DOWSIL 790 (Dow contractor's handbook) |
| hybrid sealants | ±50 % (Class 50) | DynaTrol I-XL Hybrid (Pecora data sheet) |
| polysulfide sealants | ±25 % (Class 25) | Synthacalk GC2+ (Pecora data sheet) |
| acrylic sealants | ±25 % (high-performance grade) | AVW-920 (Pecora data sheet) |
| butyl and solvent-release sealants | about 7.5 % | ASTM C1311-22 scope (no single product) |
Where building-joint rules stop: pavements and hard-wheel floors#
Two joint types follow other rules, as listed below.
- Pavement joints: FHWA HIF-18-019 (2019) sets a width-to-depth shape factor of 1:1 for hot-pour sealants and 2:1 for silicone, a compression seal reservoir depth of at least 38 to 50 mm (1.5 to 2.0 in), and a closed-cell, non-absorptive rod, never an open-cell one; slab fillers and seals are covered under expansion joints in concrete.
- Hard-wheel floor joints: ACI PRC-302.1-15 fills saw-cut joints full depth with a 100 % solids epoxy or polyurea filler of at least Shore A 80 (ASTM D2240) and no backer rod; Shore A 80 is an ACI guide value, not an ASTM requirement, and the products are compared under semi-rigid joint fillers.
How Do You Size a Sealant Joint and Its Backer Rod?#
A sealant joint is sized in a fixed order: first the width from anticipated movement and the sealant's movement class, then the depth from the width, then the rod diameter from the width. The 2:1 ratio alone never sizes a joint, since a ratio says nothing about movement. ASTM C1472-16(2022) is the guide for calculating the movement, tolerances and other effects that set the width, and the four sections below carry the width rule, the depth rule, the rod chart and the cases where a rod does not fit.
Joint width from anticipated movement#
Joint width is at least four times the anticipated movement and at least 6 mm (1/4 in) for a ±25 % sealant, per manufacturer rules such as the Pecora Synthacalk GC2 data sheet. ASTM C1472-16(2022) adds construction tolerances to that width. One facade example in Sika's joint sealing guide pairs 2 m (6.6 ft) concrete elements with a 15 x 8 mm joint and 10 m (32.8 ft) elements with a 35 x 18 mm joint for a ±25 % sealant.
The worked example below runs the three steps with two inputs: anticipated movement 4.5 mm (0.18 in) and sealant movement capability ±25 %.
- Width: 4 x 4.5 mm gives 18 mm (0.71 in), above the 6 mm (1/4 in) minimum.
- Depth: in the 13 to 25 mm (1/2 to 1 in) band the depth is about half the width, 9 mm (0.35 in), inside the IVD band of 10 ± 2 mm.
- Rod: a 25 to 50 % oversize gives 22.5 to 27.0 mm; the chart's 22.2 mm (7/8 in) rod for a 17.5 mm (11/16 in) joint sits just below that range, so the diameter is confirmed with the rod maker.
Width-to-depth ratio and depth limits#
Sealant depth equals the width in joints under 13 mm (1/2 in) and is about half the width in 13 to 25 mm (1/2 to 1 in) joints, under one US manufacturer rule. That rule also sets a minimum bead of 6 x 6 mm (1/4 x 1/4 in), caps the depth at 13 mm (1/2 in) and never lets the depth exceed the width. European practice reads the depth from the IVD metric table, with a tolerance of ±2 mm up to 25 mm widths and ±3 mm from 25 to 35 mm. The table below sets both rules side by side, with one maker's ratios for facades and floors in the last row.
| Joint width mm (in) | Depth per Tremco Vulkem 45SSL data sheet | Depth per IVD table |
|---|---|---|
| under 13 (1/2) | depth = width, minimum 6 x 6 mm (1/4 x 1/4 in) | 10 to 15 mm: 8 ± 2 mm |
| 13 to 25 (1/2 to 1) | about half the width, maximum 13 mm (1/2 in) | 15 to 20 mm: 10 ± 2 mm; 20 to 25 mm: 12 ± 2 mm |
| 25 to 35 (1 to 1-3/8) | outside the data-sheet rule | 25 to 30 mm and 30 to 35 mm: 15 ± 3 mm |
| any (Sika joint sealing guide) | width to depth 2:1 for facades, 1:0.8 for floor joints |
A bead deeper than these limits cures slowly and carries high stress, and a bead under 6 mm (1/4 in) is too thin; both faults reappear in the inspection table.
Backer rod diameter chart by joint width#
A backer rod is sized 25 to 50 % wider than the joint on the rod data sheet behind the chart below, and about 25 % wider in one sealant maker's installation guidance. The chart pairs a 9.5 mm (3/8 in) rod with a 6.4 mm (1/4 in) joint and a 101.6 mm (4 in) rod with a 76.2 mm (3 in) joint, and every metric value is an exact conversion of the published inch size.
The table below lists the published rod diameter for nine joint widths.
| Joint width mm (in) | Rod diameter mm (in), Nomaco SOF Rod data sheet |
|---|---|
| 6.4 (1/4) | 9.5 (3/8) |
| 12.7 (1/2) | 15.9 (5/8) |
| 17.5 (11/16) | 22.2 (7/8) |
| 22.2 (7/8) | 28.6 (1-1/8) |
| 28.6 (1-1/8) | 38.1 (1-1/2) |
| 41.3 (1-5/8) | 50.8 (2) |
| 50.8 (2) | 63.5 (2-1/2) |
| 63.5 (2-1/2) | 76.2 (3) |
| 76.2 (3) | 101.6 (4) |
When is a backer rod the wrong choice?#
Four joints call for something other than a foam rod, as listed below.
- Joints too shallow for a rod: bond breaker tape on the joint bottom breaks the bond without setting a depth.
- Hard-wheel floor joints: a full-depth semi-rigid filler with no rod, covered under semi-rigid joint fillers.
- Hot-applied sealants: the Type B rod data sheet behind the chart above excludes them.
- Fire-rated joints: firestop sealants take their depth from the listed system, never from the width-to-depth rule.
How Is a Backed Sealant Joint Installed?#
A backed joint is installed in a fixed sequence: cleaning, priming where the sealant maker requires it, seating the rod at the design depth, and sealing near the middle of the joint's movement range. The table below lists the installation rules that four data sheets and guides publish; each rule belongs to its named source.
| Product or guide (data sheet, edition) | Installation rule |
|---|---|
| Nomaco SOF Rod (data sheet, edition not stated) | joints clean and dry; compressed air with oil and moisture traps; rod not punctured, over-compressed or stretched; bi-cellular rod not for hot-applied sealants |
| Tremco Vulkem 45SSL (data sheet, edition not stated) | primer per the sealant maker after a mock-up and field adhesion test (cites ASTM C1193 Appendix X1); substrate surface at least 4.4 °C (40 °F) |
| Pecora (installation guidance, restoration joints) | work above 4.4 °C (40 °F); rod about 25 % larger than the joint width |
| Sika (joint sealing guide) | seal at the mid-range of joint movement; renewal like for like, up to 0.5 mm (0.02 in) of sound old sealant may remain |
Joint preparation and primer#
Joint faces must be clean and dry, free of form-release agent, curing compound residue and laitance. The three preparation rules below come from the rod and sealant data sheets in the installation table.
- Cleaning: removal of form-release agents, curing compound residue and laitance, then blowing out with compressed air fitted with oil and moisture traps.
- Primer: applied where the sealant maker requires it, after a mock-up and a field adhesion test to ASTM C1193-25 Appendix X1.
- Renewal: like for like, polyurethane with polyurethane and silicone with silicone, with up to 0.5 mm (0.02 in) of sound old sealant allowed to remain under one maker's guide.
Placing the rod: depth, compression and no punctures#
The rod is pressed in uniformly to the design depth without puncturing, over-compressing or stretching it, per the rod data sheet in the installation table. A punctured closed-cell rod releases gas into the uncured sealant and leaves bubbles in the bead, the outgassing fault that ASTM C1253 tests on the rod itself. The rod position also sets the bead depth: seated too high, it leaves a bead thinner than 6 mm (1/4 in); seated too low, it leaves a bead deeper than the width rule allows.
Installation temperature and mid-range sealing#
Seal near the middle of the joint's movement range: a joint sealed at its coldest only ever sees compression, and one sealed at its hottest only extension. Surface temperature limits come from the sealant data sheets, at least 4.4 °C (40 °F) on the substrate for one Class 35 sealant and work above 4.4 °C (40 °F) in another maker's guidance, as listed in the installation table. Cure times by temperature sit on the sealant chemistry pages.
How Are Sealant Joints Inspected, and Why Do They Fail?#
Installed joints are checked for depth and adhesion: a depth gauge confirms the design depth, and the ASTM C1193-25 Appendix X1 hand-pull tab test shows whether the sealant fails in adhesion or cohesion. Method A of Appendix X1 is the hand-pull tab, and ASTM C1521-19(2025) adds destructive and non-destructive field adhesion evaluation of installed weatherproofing joints. Two further checks concern the rod: ASTM C1087 for compatibility with the sealant and ASTM C1253 for outgassing. The table below links six failures to their cause and the check that finds them.
| Failure | Cause | Check |
|---|---|---|
| Cohesive tear at the joint base | three-sided adhesion, no bond breaker | ASTM C1193-25 Appendix X1 hand-pull tab; section cut |
| Cohesive failure in the bead | movement above the sealant's capability or wrong width-to-depth ratio | depth gauge; width recheck against movement |
| Adhesive failure at a face | poor preparation or no primer | hand-pull tab; ASTM C1521-19(2025) |
| Bubbles in the bead | punctured closed-cell rod outgassing | visual; ASTM C1253 on the rod |
| Water held in the joint | open-cell rod in pavements (FHWA HIF-18-019) | rod type on the data sheet |
| Slow cure, high stress, or early tearing | sealant too deep, or thinner than 6 mm (1/4 in) | depth gauge |
What Health, Safety and VOC Rules Apply to Sealant Joint Work?#
The hazards of sealant joint work sit with the sealant and its primer rather than the polyolefin foam backer rod, so the product SDS of each product governs. Sealants and primers with 0.1 % by weight or more of diisocyanates fall under REACH Annex XVII entry 74 (Regulation (EU) 2020/1149): industrial and professional users need training before use since 2023-08-24, renewed at least every five years. In the South Coast air district, SCAQMD Rule 1168 as amended 2022-11-04 limits All Other Architectural Sealants to 50 g/L (0.42 lb/gal) and architectural sealant primers to 250 g/L (2.09 lb/gal) on non-porous and 775 g/L (6.47 lb/gal) on porous substrates. The federal EPA AIM rule (40 CFR 59 subpart D) sets no VOC content limit for sealants, and Annex I of EU Directive 2004/42/EC has no joint sealant category. The table below lists each rule with its instrument and date.
| Topic | Rule | Instrument and date |
|---|---|---|
| Backer rod (polyolefin foam) | hazards sit with the sealant and primer; see the product SDS | product SDS |
| Sealant and primer | classification per product; see the product SDS | product SDS |
| diisocyanates rules | 0.1 % by weight or more: training before industrial or professional use, renewed at least every five years | REACH Annex XVII entry 74, Regulation (EU) 2020/1149; training since 2023-08-24 |
| VOC limits for construction chemicals | All Other Architectural Sealants 50 g/L (0.42 lb/gal); architectural sealant primers 250 g/L (2.09 lb/gal) non-porous, 775 g/L (6.47 lb/gal) porous | SCAQMD Rule 1168, amended 2022-11-04 |
| US federal | no VOC content limit for adhesives or sealants | EPA AIM, 40 CFR 59 subpart D |
| EU | no joint sealant category in Annex I | Directive 2004/42/EC |
How Much Does a Sealed Joint Cost?#
Commercial sealants and caulking cost USD 16.40 to 59.06 per m (USD 5 to 18 per linear ft) installed, on a US contractor price page dated 2026. The second dated range, joint sealant replacement in concrete (sealant type not specified), runs USD 26.25 to 65.62 per m (USD 8 to 20 per linear ft) installed in Texas on a contractor page dated 2026-03. No dated backer rod material price is available. The table below compares both ranges.
| Item | Range metric (US) | Region | Date | Source type |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial sealants and caulking, installed | USD 16.40 to 59.06 per m (USD 5 to 18 per linear ft) | US | 2026 | contractor page |
| Joint sealant replacement in concrete (sealant type not specified), installed | USD 26.25 to 65.62 per m (USD 8 to 20 per linear ft) | US (Texas) | 2026-03 | contractor page |
Installed prices per linear meter and foot; no dated backer rod material price is available.
Sealant volume follows from the joint section: width x depth in mm gives mL per m of joint, theoretical and before waste. The worked 18 x 9 mm joint needs 162 mL per m, and 1 US gal (231 in³, 3.785 L) fills 93.9 m (308 ft) of a 6.4 x 6.4 mm (1/4 x 1/4 in) joint or 47 m (154 ft) of a 6.4 x 12.7 mm (1/4 x 1/2 in) joint. Cartridges per sealant joint length are counted in the sealant joint calculator.
What Are the Alternatives to Backer Rod?#
Four products replace or supplement a foam backer rod, each where the joint is too shallow, carries hard wheels, or must seal without a gun-applied bead. The table below lists each alternative with the joint condition it serves and its reference document.
| Alternative | When it replaces or supplements a rod | Reference |
|---|---|---|
| Bond breaker tape | joint too shallow for a rod; breaks the bond at the bottom without setting depth | adhesive-backed polyethylene tape; product data sheet |
| Full-depth semi-rigid filler | hard-wheel floor joints, no rod | ACI PRC-302.1-15, semi-rigid joint fillers (epoxy or polyurea, Shore A 80 or more) |
| Preformed compression seal | pavement and slab joints sealed without a gun-applied bead | ASTM D2628-25 (polychloroprene); expansion joints in concrete |
| Open-cell rod, ASTM C1330-23 Type O | supplements closed-cell rod where the sealant maker specifies it | DOWSIL 790 silicone example |
Compression seals carry a current edition to check on every specification: ASTM D2628-25 is the active standard for preformed polychloroprene seals, and D2628-91(2016) was withdrawn in 2025.
Backer Rod Grades, Packaging and Sourcing#
Backer rod is sold as round foam cord on spools or in cut lengths, by diameter and ASTM C1330 type, and bond breaker tape as adhesive-backed polyethylene tape. Closed-cell and bi-cellular rods are polyethylene or polyolefin foam and open-cell rods are polyurethane foam, so the type letter also tells the buyer the foam. Rods are compared on data sheets like other products from construction chemicals manufacturers and suppliers.
The five checks below go into a backer rod request.
- Type: ASTM C1330-23 Type C, O or B, stated on the data sheet.
- Diameter: mm (in) per joint width, with length per diameter.
- Tested values: the six ASTM C1330-23 properties, each with its test method.
- Compatibility: data for the sealant chemistry the rod backs, per ASTM C1087.
- Form: spool or cut length, plus bond breaker tape where joints are too shallow for a rod.
A data sheet that states the C1330-23 type and tested values lets two rods be compared on one property list.
Where Does Joint Design Fit in a Sealant System?#
Joint design is the geometry layer of a sealant system: the chemistry, its movement class and its primer come from the sealant pages, and the joint performs only when width, depth and backing match that class. The width rule on this page belongs to ±25 % and Class 35 sealants; a sealant in another ASTM C920-18(2024) class carries its own rule on its data sheet.
Polyurethane and silicone sealants differ in primers, cure and renewal rules, and the two are set side by side under polyurethane vs silicone sealants.
Sealant joint design FAQs#
Six questions about sealant joint design and backer rod recur; short answers follow.
What is the minimum width of a moving sealant joint?#
A moving sealant joint is at least 6 mm (1/4 in) wide under manufacturer rules for ±25 % and Class 35 sealants, and never less than four times the anticipated movement.
What size joint takes a 3/8 in backer rod?#
A 9.5 mm (3/8 in) rod suits a 6.4 mm (1/4 in) joint on the Nomaco SOF Rod data sheet.
Does a concrete expansion joint need a backer rod?#
Yes, where the top of a concrete expansion joint is sealed: the sealant sits over a rod above the full-depth filler.
Fillers, seals and joint types are covered under expansion joints in concrete.
Can sealant be applied directly over a backer rod?#
Yes: the sealant is gunned directly onto the rod, which is its bond breaker, and tooled against it into an hourglass profile.
Does bond breaker tape do the same job as a backer rod?#
Partly: tape breaks the bond at the joint bottom where the joint is too shallow for a rod, but it does not set the depth.
Can a backer rod go under a semi-rigid floor joint filler?#
No: ACI PRC-302.1-15 fills hard-wheel floor joints full depth with a semi-rigid filler and no backer rod.
Filler chemistries and hardness are covered under semi-rigid joint fillers.