Installed resin flooring costs USD 32.29 to 64.58 per m² (USD 3 to 6 per ft²) for thin-film epoxy and USD 107.64 to 193.75 per m² (USD 10 to 18 per ft²) for urethane cement (US Dallas-Fort Worth, 2026-10). A professionally installed garage epoxy floor averages USD 83.74 to 136.81 per m² (USD 7.78 to 12.71 per ft²) in the US, on the Homewyse national average dated 2026-05. Every price below carries its basis, unit, region, date and source, because a figure without them cannot be set against a quote.
What decides where a floor lands inside those ranges? The price follows the build, the preparation the slab needs and the moisture the slab holds, and on a damp or cracked slab the testing, mitigation and repair lines can match the coating itself. Resin floors are one family among the construction chemicals that protect, repair and finish concrete, listed in full under construction chemicals.
The summary table below compares the headline figures.
| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| Garage epoxy, US national average, installed | USD 83.74 to 136.81 per m² (USD 7.78 to 12.71 per ft²), US, 2026-05 (Homewyse) |
| Commercial ladder, installed, 4,645 m² (50,000 ft²) basis | thin-film epoxy USD 32.29 to 64.58 per m² (USD 3 to 6 per ft²) up to urethane cement USD 107.64 to 193.75 per m² (USD 10 to 18 per ft²), US Dallas-Fort Worth, 2026-10 (Legacy Industrial Coatings) |
| Moisture mitigation add-on, installed | USD 32.29 to 86.11 per m² (USD 3 to 8 per ft²), US Dallas-Fort Worth, 2026-10 |
| In-situ RH test | USD 250 to 300 per test location, US, 2026-07 (Mohawk Group) |
| Basis and date | third-party cost guides and contractor pages, not quotes; each figure dated as read |
Standards, codes and regulations are checked against their issuing bodies, product values against the named data sheet and prices against the dated source named in the sentence; see our methodology and fact-checking.
What Does an Epoxy Flooring Price Include?#
An epoxy flooring price is comparable only when it states its basis, its unit, the system build, and the date and region it was read in. The basis says installed (material plus labor), material only, DIY kit or "basis not stated", and the build says which thickness and layers the price buys. Two sources that disagree stand side by side and are never averaged, and figures older than 18 months carry their year.
Which costs sit inside an installed price? Installed prices carry labor, surface preparation and mobilization, and they move with six drivers: preparation and access, thickness and chemistry, project size and job minimums, region and labor, credentials and warranty, and testing. The system is chosen before the price, on the duty and slab condition set out for resin and industrial floor coatings on the hub for resin and industrial floor coatings.
Installed, material-only and kit prices#
Three price bases exist, and they are never mixed in one comparison. The three bases and one dated example of each are listed below.
- Installed: material plus labor, for example the US national garage average of USD 83.74 to 136.81 per m² (USD 7.78 to 12.71 per ft², 2026-05).
- Basis not stated: one US coatings supplier's guide dated 2025-07-08 prices epoxy by resin type without saying whether labor is included, and lists professional installation separately at USD 64.58 to 161.46 per m² (USD 6 to 15 per ft²).
- DIY kits (vendor's own): USD 11.63 to 28.63 per m² (USD 1.08 to 2.66 per ft²), US, 2026, on one vendor's cost page.
Converting price per square foot to price per square meter#
A price per ft² multiplied by 10.764 gives the price per m², and a price per linear ft multiplied by 3.28084 gives the price per meter. Worked example: the Dallas-Fort Worth high-build epoxy range of USD 5 to 9 per ft² (2026-10) multiplied by 10.764 gives USD 53.82 to 96.88 per m². Currencies are never converted: Indian prices stay in INR and UK prices in GBP.
How Does System Build Set the Price of a Resin Floor?#
A resin floor's price rises with its build, from a FeRFA Type 1 seal of 150 µm (5.9 mil) or less to a Type 8 heavy-duty floor over 6 mm (0.24 in). Each step up the FeRFA classification (2025) adds resin, aggregate, layers and labor. The Dallas-Fort Worth ladder dated 2026-10 shows the climb in money, from USD 32.29 to 64.58 per m² for thin-film epoxy to USD 107.64 to 193.75 per m² for urethane cement 5 to 10 mm (3/16 to 3/8 in) thick.
The table below compares the eight FeRFA types by description and thickness band.
| FeRFA type | Description | Thickness µm or mm (mil or in) |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Floor seal | 150 µm (5.9 mil) or less |
| 2 | Floor coating | 150 to 300 µm (5.9 to 11.8 mil) |
| 3 | High-build floor coating | 300 to 1,000 µm (11.8 to 39.4 mil) |
| 4 | Multi-layer flooring | over 2 mm (0.08 in) |
| 5 | Flow-applied flooring | 2 to 3 mm (0.08 to 0.12 in) |
| 6 | Resin screed flooring | over 4 mm (0.16 in) |
| 7 | Heavy-duty flowable flooring | 4 to 6 mm (0.16 to 0.24 in) |
| 8 | Heavy-duty flooring | over 6 mm (0.24 in) |
Why is thickness the first number to compare? Material per coat follows consumption: the Sikafloor-264 N data sheet gives a roller coat of 0.3 to 0.4 kg/m² (0.06 to 0.08 lb/ft²) and a filled wearing layer of 1.6 to 1.9 kg/m² per mm (8.32 to 9.88 lb/ft² per inch, calculated), both theoretical. For films, the coverage identity of 1,604 ft² per US gal at 1 mil DFT and 100 % volume solids (m²/L = 1,000 x VS / DFT in µm) ties every dry mil to a quantity of resin. Two quotes at different builds price different floors, and the build-ups are set out under epoxy flooring types and system build-ups on the page for epoxy flooring types and system build-ups.
Epoxy and Resin Flooring Cost by System#
On one US Dallas-Fort Worth commercial basis of 4,645 m² (50,000 ft²) dated 2026-10, installed prices climb from USD 16.15 to 43.06 per m² for densified concrete to USD 107.64 to 193.75 per m² for urethane cement. The ladder comes from one contractor's cost page, so its figures are local.
The table below compares prices by system, with the build each price buys and the source type behind it.
| System | Build metric (US) | Price USD per m² (per ft²) and basis | Region | Date | Source type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Densified concrete | not stated | 16.15 to 43.06 (1.50 to 4), installed | US Dallas-Fort Worth | 2026-10 | contractor cost page (Legacy Industrial Coatings) |
| Thin-film epoxy | not stated | 32.29 to 64.58 (3 to 6), installed | US Dallas-Fort Worth | 2026-10 | contractor cost page |
| High-build epoxy | 0.51 to 1.52 mm (20 to 60 mils) | 53.82 to 96.88 (5 to 9), installed | US Dallas-Fort Worth | 2026-10 | contractor cost page |
| Flake broadcast | nominal 1.0 mm (40 mils) (Dur-A-Chip specification) | 64.58 to 107.64 (6 to 10), installed | US Dallas-Fort Worth | 2026-10 | contractor cost page |
| Quartz double broadcast | nominal 3.2 mm (1/8 in) (Dur-A-Quartz system sheet) | 86.11 to 139.93 (8 to 13), installed | US Dallas-Fort Worth | 2026-10 | contractor cost page |
| Metallic epoxy | not stated | 96.88 to 161.46 (9 to 15), installed | US | 2026 | vendor cost page (Armor Garage) |
| polyaspartic and polyurea floor coatings | not stated | polyaspartic 75.35 to 129.17 (7 to 12); polyurea 53.82 to 107.64 (5 to 10); installed | US | 2026 | vendor cost page (Armor Garage) |
| polyurethane cement (urethane concrete) floors | 5 to 10 mm (3/16 to 3/8 in) | 107.64 to 193.75 (10 to 18), installed | US Dallas-Fort Worth | 2026-10 | contractor cost page |
| MMA (methyl methacrylate) flooring | n/a | no dated public price | n/a | n/a | none found |
| epoxy flooring by resin type | not stated | water-based 32.29 to 75.35 (3 to 7); solvent-based 43.06 to 96.88 (4 to 9); 100 % solids 53.82 to 129.17 (5 to 12); metallic 86.11 to 161.46 (8 to 15); basis not stated | US | 2025-07-08 | coatings supplier guide (Intermountain Coatings) |
Thin-film and high-build epoxy prices#
Thin-film epoxy costs USD 32.29 to 64.58 per m² (USD 3 to 6 per ft²) and high-build epoxy of 0.51 to 1.52 mm (20 to 60 mils) USD 53.82 to 96.88 per m², installed (Dallas-Fort Worth, 2026-10). Both are two-component systems of a bisphenol A or F diglycidyl ether (BADGE or BFDGE) liquid resin and an amine hardener, near 100 % solids or water-based, with novolac grades for chemical duty. A US coatings supplier's guide dated 2025-07-08 prices epoxy by resin type instead, from USD 32.29 to 75.35 per m² (USD 3 to 7 per ft²) water-based to USD 53.82 to 129.17 per m² (USD 5 to 12 per ft²) at 100 % solids, basis not stated. The two sources stay apart: one is installed and local, the other states no basis.
Flake, quartz and metallic finish prices#
Flake floors cost USD 64.58 to 107.64 per m² (USD 6 to 10 per ft²) and quartz double broadcast USD 86.11 to 139.93 per m² (USD 8 to 13 per ft²), installed (US Dallas-Fort Worth, 2026-10). The Dur-A-Chip specification gives a flake system a nominal 1.0 mm (40 mils), and the Dur-A-Quartz sheet gives quartz a nominal 3.2 mm (1/8 in) with 0.74 m²/L (30 ft²/gal) of epoxy plus 3.7 kg/m² (0.75 lb/ft²) of quartz. Metallic epoxy costs USD 96.88 to 161.46 per m² (USD 9 to 15 per ft²) installed on one US vendor's 2026 cost page. The price of decorative resin floors rises with aggregate, layers and clear topcoats, compared under decorative resin floors.
Polyaspartic and polyurea coating prices#
Polyaspartic coatings cost USD 75.35 to 129.17 per m² (USD 7 to 12 per ft²) installed and polyurea coatings USD 53.82 to 107.64 per m² (USD 5 to 10 per ft²) on one US vendor's 2026 cost page. Polyaspartics react an aliphatic polyisocyanate with a polyaspartic ester, cure in hours, contain 70 to 100 % solids and hold their color under UV. Hybrid systems pair an epoxy base coat for adhesion and build with a polyaspartic or polyurea topcoat for UV, so a hybrid quote prices two chemistries. The same vendor lists residential garage epoxy at USD 53.82 to 96.88 per m² (USD 5 to 9 per ft², 2026), below its polyaspartic range.
Urethane cement floor prices#
Urethane cement floors 5 to 10 mm (3/16 to 3/8 in) thick cost USD 107.64 to 193.75 per m² (USD 10 to 18 per ft²) installed, the top of the Dallas-Fort Worth ladder dated 2026-10. The price buys three components, water-dispersed polyurethane, cement and graded aggregate, whose hydration and cure run together into a dense, moisture-tolerant mortar with thermal expansion close to concrete, placed as FeRFA Types 6 to 8. The Ucrete 33 NA data sheet allows placement on concrete above 4 % moisture (Tramex CME) and below 100 % RH (ASTM F2170-19a), which is why urethane cement is listed as an alternative to a separate mitigation layer.
Where Is the Floor? Commercial, Garage and Regional Price Levels#
The same coating is priced differently by setting: large commercial floors carry the lowest unit price, residential garages carry job minimums and decorative finishes, and regional markets quote in their own currency.
Commercial and industrial floors#
Commercial and industrial prices on this page rest on one 4,645 m² (50,000 ft²) Dallas-Fort Worth basis, so a smaller floor prices higher per m². Mobilization and job minimums spread over fewer square meters on a small job. No dated public ladder converts that basis to other sizes, so a 500 m² (5,382 ft²) floor is priced from a quote.
Residential garage floors#
A professionally installed garage epoxy floor averages USD 83.74 to 136.81 per m² (USD 7.78 to 12.71 per ft²) in the US (Homewyse national average, 2026-05). One US vendor's 2026 cost page puts residential garage epoxy at USD 53.82 to 96.88 per m² (USD 5 to 9 per ft²) installed, and the two ranges stand side by side, not averaged. Garage systems layer an epoxy base coat, a flake broadcast and a polyaspartic or aliphatic polyurethane topcoat, or use a full polyaspartic build. The extras answer four failure modes: hot-tire pickup, delamination over a damp slab, peeling of acid-etched floors and UV yellowing of epoxy topcoats. System choice against those failure modes is compared under garage floor coatings.
Epoxy flooring rates in India#
India rates are INR 376.74 to 753.48 per m² (INR 35 to 70 per ft²) for a basic epoxy coating and INR 861.12 to 1,614.60 per m² (INR 80 to 150 per ft²) for self-leveling epoxy, installed (2026 listing). A second listing dated 2026-04-02 puts a basic 1 mm coating at INR 484.38 to 699.66 per m² (INR 45 to 65 per ft²), installed. Worked example: 2,000 ft² (185.81 m²) at the basic rate of INR 35 to 70 per ft² (2026) costs INR 70,000 to 140,000, calculated. Indian buyers search "epoxy flooring charges" and "epoxy flooring rates" for the same installed price per ft².
What Adds to the Price? Preparation, Moisture and Details#
Preparation, moisture control and edge details are priced as separate lines, and on a damp or cracked slab they can cost as much as the coating itself. The Dallas-Fort Worth mitigation add-on of USD 32.29 to 86.11 per m² (USD 3 to 8 per ft², 2026-10) overlaps the whole thin-film epoxy range on the same ladder.
The table below compares the dated adders by unit, range, region and date.
| Item | Unit | Range metric (US) | Region | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Surface preparation (blasting, grinding) | per m² | priced per contractor, no dated range | n/a | n/a |
| concrete floor and slab crack repair | per m (per linear ft) | USD 9.84 to 32.81 per m (USD 3 to 10 per linear ft), installed | US Dallas-Fort Worth | 2026-10 |
| In-situ RH test, concrete moisture testing | per test location | USD 250 to 300 (Mohawk Group) | US | 2026-07 |
| RH testing, 12 probes on 929.03 m² (10,000 ft²) | per job | USD 3,000 to 3,600 (Mohawk Group) | US | 2026-07 |
| Moisture mitigation add-on | per m² (per ft²) | USD 32.29 to 86.11 (USD 3 to 8), installed | US Dallas-Fort Worth | 2026-10 |
| Epoxy-based moisture mitigation systems | per m² (per ft²) | USD 43.06 to 75.35 (USD 4.00 to 7.00), installed (IFTI) | US | 2025 |
| Standard moisture mitigation products | per m² (per ft²) | USD 53.82 to 86.11 (USD 5 to 8), installed (Mohawk Group) | US | 2026-07 |
| Urethane cove base | per m (per linear ft) | USD 39.37 to 59.06 per m (USD 12 to 18 per linear ft), installed | US Dallas-Fort Worth | 2026-10 |
| semi-rigid joint fillers for industrial floors | per m (per linear ft) | polyurea, 6 to 13 mm (1/4 to 1/2 in) joints USD 6.56 to 11.48 (USD 2.00 to 3.50); epoxy, 13 to 25 mm (1/2 to 1 in) USD 11.48 to 16.40 (USD 3.50 to 5.00); polyurethane, over 25 mm (1 in) USD 16.40+ (USD 5.00+); installed | US South Carolina contractor | 2026 |
Surface preparation and crack repair#
Resin floors need mechanical preparation by blasting, planing or grinding, and acid etching is not recommended (FeRFA guide). The GP4850 polyaspartic data sheet names CSP 3, and ASTM F3010-24 sets CSP 3 as the default for mitigation membranes, with profiles and methods under the page on concrete surface profile at concrete surface profile. FeRFA guidance names a pull-off strength above 1.5 N/mm² (218 psi) to BS EN 13892-8 as satisfactory, as guidance and not an EN 13813 requirement, and asks for a surface RH of 75 % or less (BS 8203) unless the system tolerates moisture.
Crack repair costs USD 9.84 to 32.81 per m (USD 3 to 10 per linear ft), installed, on the Dallas-Fort Worth ladder dated 2026-10. Grinding adds dust control, because OSHA 29 CFR 1926.1153 sets a respirable crystalline silica PEL of 50 µg/m³ (8-hour TWA) and an action level of 25 µg/m³ (effective 2016-06-23), and its Table 1 entry (xiii) requires floor grinders with integrated water or a dust collector of at least 99 % filter efficiency.
Slab moisture testing and mitigation#
In-situ RH testing costs USD 250 to 300 per test location, and 12 probes on 929.03 m² (10,000 ft²) cost USD 3,000 to 3,600 (US, Mohawk Group, 2026-07). The tests follow ASTM F2170-19a or ASTM F1869-23, and the pass limit comes from the floor product's maker, because the ASTM methods set no pass/fail value.
Three dated mitigation ranges stand side by side, all installed: the Dallas-Fort Worth add-on of USD 32.29 to 86.11 per m² (2026-10), epoxy-based mitigation at USD 43.06 to 75.35 per m² (US, 2025) and standard mitigation products at USD 53.82 to 86.11 per m² (US, 2026-07). A two-component membrane to ASTM F3010-24 has a permeance of 0.10 perm or less by ASTM E96 Procedure B and a tensile bond of at least 1.38 MPa (200 psi) with failure in the concrete, as set out under moisture mitigation systems for concrete slabs at moisture mitigation systems for concrete slabs.
Cove base and floor joints#
Urethane cove base costs USD 39.37 to 59.06 per m (USD 12 to 18 per linear ft) installed (US Dallas-Fort Worth, 2026-10). One South Carolina contractor page dated 2026 prices joint filling by width, from polyurea in 6 to 13 mm (1/4 to 1/2 in) joints at USD 6.56 to 11.48 per m (USD 2.00 to 3.50 per linear ft) to polyurethane over 25 mm (1 in) from USD 16.40 per m (USD 5.00 per linear ft), installed. The FeRFA guide sizes a joint chase at about the flooring thickness in depth and twice that in width.
How Do Standards and Specifications Change the Price?#
Standards change the price by fixing what is bought: EN 13813:2002 declares a synthetic resin floor's bond, wear and impact classes, and the FeRFA type fixes its thickness. BS 8204-6:2008+A1:2010 sets UK design and installation practice for synthetic resin floorings. Two quotes at the same FeRFA type and EN 13813 classes are comparable, and two at different types price different floors.
How does CE marking enter the price? EN 13813:2002 is the harmonised standard for screed material, cited in OJ C 259 of 2014-08-08, and a synthetic resin (SR) material needs CE marking where it declares wear of RWA10 or AR1 or better, bond of B1,5 or more and impact of IR4 or more (Table ZA.1.5). The FeRFA guide calls for an applicator for Types 2 to 8, so labor sits inside every price above a Type 1 seal. Designations such as "EN 13813 SR-B2,0-AR1-IR4" are explained under EN 13813 screed materials on the page for EN 13813 screed materials.
VOC and isocyanate rules as price factors#
Floor coatings sold in the South Coast air district are limited to 50 g/L (0.42 lb/gal) VOC under SCAQMD Rule 1113 (amended 2016-02-05), against 400 g/L (3.34 lb/gal) under the federal EPA AIM rule. A low-VOC or 100 % solids product is the entry ticket to South Coast projects, while the federal limit in 40 CFR 59 subpart D Table 1 applies to floor coatings manufactured on or after 1999-09-13. In the EU, Directive 2004/42/EC category (j) limits two-pack reactive performance coatings to 140 g/L (1.17 lb/gal) water-based and 500 g/L (4.17 lb/gal) solvent-based since Phase II (2010-01-01).
Isocyanate chemistry adds a crew training cost in the EU: REACH Annex XVII entry 74 (Regulation (EU) 2020/1149) requires training before industrial or professional use of products with 0.1 % by weight or more diisocyanates since 2023-08-24, renewed at least every five years. It reaches polyurethane, polyaspartic and urethane cement crews, not epoxy-amine systems.
The table below compares the rules that change a floor's material or crew cost.
| Rule | Category | Limit or requirement | Date |
|---|---|---|---|
| SCAQMD Rule 1113 | Floor Coatings (Table of Standards 1) | 50 g/L (0.42 lb/gal) | amended 2016-02-05 |
| EPA AIM, 40 CFR 59 subpart D Table 1 | Floor coatings | 400 g/L (3.34 lb/gal) | made on or after 1999-09-13 |
| Directive 2004/42/EC Annex II A | (j) two-pack reactive performance coatings | WB 140 g/L (1.17 lb/gal); SB 500 g/L (4.17 lb/gal) | Phase II since 2010-01-01 |
| REACH Annex XVII entry 74, Regulation (EU) 2020/1149 (diisocyanates rules) | products with 0.1 % by weight or more diisocyanates | training before industrial or professional use, renewed at least every five years | since 2023-08-24 |
| CLP, liquid epoxy resin CAS 25068-38-6 (epoxy resins and hardeners) | hazard line | Harmonised CLP Annex VI (index 603-074-00-8): H315, H317, H319, H411 | Annex VI entry (ECHA) |
| OSHA 29 CFR 1926.1153 | respirable crystalline silica in construction | PEL 50 µg/m³ 8-h TWA; action level 25 µg/m³; floor grinders Table 1 (xiii) | effective 2016-06-23 |
Limits for other product categories are listed under VOC limits for construction chemicals.
How Do Cure Time and Downtime Change the Price?#
Downtime is part of a floor's cost: Sikafloor-264 N needs about 24 hours at 20 °C (68 °F) before foot traffic, GP4850 needs 6 hours at 25 °C (77 °F), and Silikal R 41 hardens in about 25 minutes at 20 °C. A cheaper system that keeps a kitchen or production line closed for more days can cost the facility more than a dearer one that reopens the same day, so the comparison includes return to service at the expected slab temperature.
Why does temperature change the cost? Cold slabs slow every reaction: the same epoxy needs about 30 hours at 10 °C (50 °F) before foot traffic and about 16 hours at 30 °C (86 °F). FeRFA guidance at 15 to 20 °C (59 to 68 °F) allows 1 to 3 days before significant traffic and 3 to 7 days before wet cleaning, chemicals or heavy traffic, with MMA floors in service in hours. Application needs substrate and air above 5 °C (41 °F) and rising, cure slows below 10 °C (50 °F), and the substrate stays at least 3 °C (5.4 °F) above the dew point (ISO 8502-4:2017), rounded to 5 °F in US product data, so winter heating or enclosure adds to the bill.
The table below compares return to service by product and temperature.
| Product (data sheet) | Temperature °C (°F) | Foot traffic | Full cure or wheels |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sikafloor-264 N (epoxy) | 10 (50) | about 30 h | full cure about 7 d |
| Sikafloor-264 N (epoxy) | 20 (68) | about 24 h | full cure about 5 d |
| Sikafloor-264 N (epoxy) | 30 (86) | about 16 h | full cure about 3 d |
| GP4850 (polyaspartic) | 25 (77) | 6 h | wheels 24 h; recoat 6 to 36 h |
| Ucrete 33 NA (urethane cement) | 10 (50) | about 24 h | full cure about 7 d |
| Ucrete 33 NA (urethane cement) | 20 (68) | about 18 h | full cure about 5 d |
| Ucrete 33 NA (urethane cement) | 30 (86) | about 6 h | full cure about 3 d |
| Silikal R 41 (MMA) | 20 (68) | hardening about 25 min | n/a |
| FeRFA guidance (resin floors) | 15 to 20 (59 to 68) | 1 to 3 d before significant traffic | 3 to 7 d before wet cleaning, chemicals or heavy traffic |
How Do You Choose a Floor System on Price?#
Choose the FeRFA type and chemistry from traffic, chemicals, temperature and slab moisture first, then compare prices only between quotes at that type. A thin coating priced below a screed saves nothing where the duty wears it through, and wear-through of Types 1 to 3 is a listed failure mode. Thin systems of Types 1 to 5, up to about 6 mm, blister osmotically on damp slabs, so a damp slab calls for Types 6 to 8, a vapor-permeable system or a mitigation line.
What about mixed systems? Hybrid systems split the job: an epoxy base coat gives adhesion and build, and a polyaspartic or polyurea topcoat gives UV stability, because aromatic epoxies yellow while polyaspartics show low yellowing. A hybrid quote is compared with another hybrid at the same type.
The table below compares duty, FeRFA type, chemistry and the price row that applies.
| Duty | FeRFA type | Chemistry | Price row (installed) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Light foot traffic, dust sealing | Types 1 to 2 | seal or thin-film epoxy | thin-film epoxy USD 32.29 to 64.58 per m² (USD 3 to 6 per ft²), US Dallas-Fort Worth, 2026-10 |
| Dry floors needing build and wear reserve | Type 3 | high-build epoxy | USD 53.82 to 96.88 per m² (USD 5 to 9 per ft²), US Dallas-Fort Worth, 2026-10 |
| Residential garage, hot tires, UV | Types 2 to 4 | epoxy base, flake broadcast, polyaspartic or aliphatic PU topcoat | garage average USD 83.74 to 136.81 per m² (USD 7.78 to 12.71 per ft²), US, 2026-05 |
| Wet process, kitchens, thermal shock | Types 6 to 8 | urethane cement | USD 107.64 to 193.75 per m² (USD 10 to 18 per ft²), US Dallas-Fort Worth, 2026-10 |
| Damp slab | Types 6 to 8 or vapor-permeable | moisture-tolerant system or mitigation membrane | mitigation add-on USD 32.29 to 86.11 per m² (USD 3 to 8 per ft²), US Dallas-Fort Worth, 2026-10 |
When is the cheapest coating the wrong choice?#
Four slab and service conditions turn the lowest-priced coating into a repair job. The four conditions are listed below.
- Damp slab: thin systems of Types 1 to 5 blister osmotically over slab moisture, covered under outgassing and blistering in concrete floor coatings.
- Cold, humid cure: amine hardeners react with carbon dioxide and moisture in cold humid air and form a carbamate blush, covered under amine blush on epoxy.
- UV and hot tires: aromatic epoxy topcoats yellow under UV, and garage floors show hot-tire pickup.
- Acid-etched preparation: acid-etched garage floors peel, so mechanical preparation belongs in every comparable price.
The downsides of epoxy and polyaspartic coatings beyond price are covered on their own class pages.
What Are the Lower- and Higher-Cost Alternatives to Epoxy Flooring?#
Seven floor finishes bracket epoxy on price, from an epoxy sealer over polished concrete at USD 9.15 to 17.22 per m² to microcement at USD 322.92 to 807.30+ per m² (US, installed, 2026-04 sources). Each alternative solves a different problem. Densified and polished concrete treat the slab itself without a thick film, self-leveling underlayments and screeds correct level before a finish, resurfacers renew a worn slab, and microcement is a decorative thin topping.
The table below compares the alternatives by installed price, region, date and the case each one wins.
| Alternative | Installed price metric (US) or local currency | Region | Date | When it wins |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| polished concrete floors | USD 32.29 to 161.46 per m² (USD 3 to 15 per ft²); simple polish USD 21.53 to 64.58 per m² (USD 2 to 6 per ft²) (This Old House) | US | 2026-04 | sound slab, no coating film wanted |
| concrete densifiers (densified concrete) | USD 16.15 to 43.06 per m² (USD 1.50 to 4 per ft²) | US Dallas-Fort Worth | 2026-10 | dust-proofing and surface hardening |
| film-forming concrete sealers (epoxy sealer over polished concrete) | USD 9.15 to 17.22 per m² (USD 0.85 to 1.60 per ft²) (This Old House) | US | 2026-04 | stain resistance on a polished floor |
| self-leveling concrete and underlayments | 6 mm (1/4 in) overlay USD 37.67 to 69.97 per m² (USD 3.50 to 6.50 per ft²), Cary IL contractor, 2025-07-07; incl. primer, preparation and labor USD 32.29 to 75.35 per m² (USD 3 to 7 per ft²), US, 2026 | US | 2025-07-07; 2026 | leveling before a coating or covering |
| Concrete resurfacing | USD 32.29 to 75.35 per m² (USD 3 to 7 per ft²) (HomeGuide) | US | 2026-02 | worn or scaled slab renewal |
| microcement and microtopping | USD 322.92 to 807.30+ per m² (USD 30 to 75+ per ft²), vendor page | US | 2026-04-15 | decorative seamless finish on floors and walls |
| floor screeds | screed GBP 15 to 20, liquid screed GBP 18 to 30, fast-drying screed GBP 20 to 35 per m² (GBP 1.39 to 1.86, 1.67 to 2.79, 1.86 to 3.25 per ft²), laid | UK | 2024-07-03 | leveling and falls before a finish (UK) |
The UK screed figures date from 2024.
What Must a Floor Coating Specification State Before Pricing?#
A floor price can be compared only when the specification states seven items: FeRFA type and thickness, chemistry and topcoat, substrate tests, preparation method, moisture limit, cure schedule, and slip or ESD tests. A quote that leaves out one of the seven prices a different floor, and the gap shows up as a lower number. How contractors build quotes against such a specification is set out under epoxy and industrial flooring contractors on the page for epoxy and industrial flooring contractors.
Should a buyer request material or an installed price? Both requests exist and are never compared with each other, and retail single-unit prices are never scaled up to project size. Some systems are sold installed only: the Sikafloor-264 N data sheet restricts installation to the maker's own contractor program. The seven items of a comparable specification are listed below.
- FeRFA type and thickness: type number and build in µm (mil, DFT) for films or mm (in) for screeds.
- Chemistry and topcoat: epoxy, polyaspartic, urethane cement or MMA, and the topcoat for UV or wear.
- Substrate tests: pull-off to BS EN 13892-8 and slab RH to ASTM F2170-19a.
- Preparation method: blasting, planing or grinding to the CSP on the product data sheet.
- Moisture limit: the product maker's RH or emission limit and the mitigation line above it.
- Cure schedule: foot traffic, wheels and full cure at the expected slab temperature.
- Slip or ESD tests: pendulum PTV to EN 16165:2021 or ANSI/ESD S20.20-2021 floor limits where required.
Where Does Flooring Cost Fit in Floor System Selection?#
Flooring cost is the last filter in floor system selection: duty, exposure and slab condition choose the system, and this page prices it. The three other priced construction chemical systems on this site are listed below.
- basement waterproofing cost
- roof waterproofing and roof coating cost
- fireproofing cost per square foot
Polyurethane topcoats, MMA floors, ESD floors and slip-resistant floors have no dated public installed price, so a request on one specification is the route to a price for those four systems.
Epoxy flooring cost FAQs#
How much does it cost to epoxy 1,000 square feet?#
At the US national garage average of USD 83.74 to 136.81 per m² (USD 7.78 to 12.71 per ft², 2026-05), 1,000 ft² (92.90 m²) costs USD 7,780 to 12,710 installed, calculated. The Dallas-Fort Worth ladder is not applied, because it rests on a 4,645 m² (50,000 ft²) basis (2026-10).
How much epoxy does a 1,000 square foot floor need?#
One roller coat of Sikafloor-264 N at 0.3 to 0.4 kg/m² needs 27.9 to 37.2 kg (61 to 82 lb) on 92.90 m² (1,000 ft²), theoretical, per coat. By the coverage identity, a 100 % solids coating at 254 µm (10 mil) DFT covers 3.94 m²/L (160.4 ft²/US gal), so 1,000 ft² needs 23.6 L (6.23 US gal) per coat, theoretical.
Other builds and solids contents are worked in the epoxy and coating coverage calculator at epoxy and coating coverage calculator.
How much does a 20x20 epoxy floor cost?#
A 20x20 ft floor is 400 ft² (37.16 m²) and costs USD 3,112 to 5,084 installed at the 2026-05 US garage average, calculated. A 12x12 ft floor of 144 ft² (13.38 m²) comes to USD 1,120 to 1,830 by the same 2026-05 method, although job minimums raise the unit price of small floors.
Are kit prices comparable with installed prices?#
No: DIY kit prices of USD 11.63 to 28.63 per m² (USD 1.08 to 2.66 per ft²) on one vendor's 2026 page cover that vendor's own kits, while installed prices include labor and preparation.
Is polyaspartic more expensive than epoxy?#
Yes on one US vendor's 2026 cost page: polyaspartic costs USD 75.35 to 129.17 per m² installed against USD 53.82 to 96.88 per m² for residential garage epoxy. The GP4850 data sheet gives foot traffic after 6 hours at 25 °C (77 °F), so part of the higher price buys faster return to service.
Price, cure and wear of the three chemistries are compared under epoxy vs polyaspartic vs polyurea floor coatings.