Construction Chemicals
  1. Home
  2. Products
  3. Resin and Industrial Floor Coatings for Concrete
  4. Garage Floor Coatings
Product class

Garage Floor Coatings: Epoxy, Polyaspartic and Polyurea Systems Compared

Product class data cardGarage floor coatings
Chemistry base
epoxy basecoat (adhesion, build) + flake broadcast + polyaspartic or aliphatic PU topcoat (UV, hot-tire)
Forms
  • 2K kits
  • professional multi-coat systems
Substrates
  • residential concrete slab on grade
Standards and classes
Not recorded.
Coverage or thickness
flake system nominal 40 mils (1.0 mm) (system build)
Application window
  • Substrate 35-120 °F (1.7-49 °C) for GP4850
  • Humidity ≤ 85 % RH
  • Dew point ≥ 5 °F above dew point
Cure times (typical)
  • 77 °F (25 °C) pot life 20-25 min; tack-free 1 h; recoat 6-36 h; foot traffic 6 h; wheels 24 h
VOC limits
  • 50 g/L (0.42 lb/gal) SCAQMD Rule 1113, Floor Coatings
  • 400 g/L (3.3 lb/gal) US EPA AIM, 40 CFR 59 subpart D, Table 1, Floor coatings
Hazards (typical)
H315, H317, H319, H411 Check the product SDS.

Class-level values from standards, regulations and published data sheets, without product names. Check the data sheet and SDS of the product you use. Reviewed .

A garage floor coating is a resin system bonded to a ground concrete slab: an epoxy basecoat for adhesion and build, an optional broadcast of colored flake, and a polyaspartic or aliphatic polyurethane topcoat, or polyaspartic throughout. The topcoat carries the UV and hot-tire resistance, and the epoxy base carries the build and the bond.

Garage systems are residential uses of FeRFA Type 2 to 4 builds: Type 2 coatings measure 150 to 300 µm (5.9 to 11.8 mil), Type 3 high-build coatings 300 to 1,000 µm (11.8 to 39.4 mil) and Type 4 multi-layer floors more than 2 mm (79 mil) (FeRFA standard page, 2025). One flake system specification sets a nominal build of 1.0 mm (40 mil). Within construction chemicals, garage coatings belong to the resin floor family, listed with every other family under construction chemicals.

In the UK the same build is sold as a garage resin floor. The numbers that decide a garage job are a CSP 3 profile of 11 ± 2 mil (0.28 mm), a slab that the IRC 2024 lets go without an under-slab vapor retarder, a dew-point margin of 3 °C (5.4 °F), a South Coast VOC cap of 50 g/L (0.42 lb/gal) and an installed US range of USD 83.74 to 136.81 per m² (USD 7.78 to 12.71 per ft²) for garage epoxy (Homewyse, 2026-05).

The table below summarizes the garage system in eight attributes.

Attribute Value
System build epoxy basecoat (adhesion, build) + optional flake broadcast + polyaspartic or aliphatic polyurethane topcoat (UV, hot tire); or full polyaspartic
FeRFA types used Type 2 coating 150 to 300 µm (5.9 to 11.8 mil); Type 3 high-build 300 to 1,000 µm (11.8 to 39.4 mil); Type 4 multi-layer more than 2 mm (79 mil) (FeRFA, 2025)
One flake system build nominal 1.0 mm (40 mil) (Dur-A-Chip standard specification)
Forms two-component kits for one garage; professional multi-coat systems
EU and US basis EU: EN 13813:2002 synthetic resin (SR) screed material; US: no product standard, test methods only
Polyaspartic window and traffic GP4850 (PDS 2018): substrate 1.7 to 49 °C (35 to 120 °F); foot traffic 6 h and wheeled traffic 24 h at 25 °C (77 °F)
South Coast VOC Floor Coatings 50 g/L (0.42 lb/gal), SCAQMD Rule 1113 (amended 2016-02-05)
Hazards epoxy: CLP Annex VI index 603-074-00-8; isocyanate topcoats: REACH Annex XVII entry 74 training since 2023-08-24; grinding: OSHA silica PEL 50 µg/m³

Standards, codes and regulations are checked against their issuing bodies, product values against the named data sheet and prices against the dated source named in the sentence; see our methodology and fact-checking.

What Is a Garage Floor Coating?#

A garage floor coating is a two-component reactive resin system, supplied as a kit or as a professional multi-coat system, that turns a residential concrete slab into a seamless, cleanable wearing surface. Two forms reach the market: two-component kits sized for one garage, and professional systems sold as separate base, flake and topcoat units.

By thickness, the finished garage floor falls into FeRFA Type 2 (coating), Type 3 (high-build) or Type 4 (multi-layer), the same bands that resin and industrial floor coatings use on commercial slabs. The eight FeRFA types and the chemistries behind them are set out under resin and industrial floor coatings for concrete.

Epoxy, polyaspartic and aliphatic polyurethane: the three resins in a garage system#

Three resins build every garage system: epoxy for the basecoat, polyaspartic (an aliphatic polyurea) for fast topcoats or full systems, and aliphatic polyurethane for topcoats. The three resins are listed below in build order.

  • Epoxy: Part A is a liquid resin based on bisphenol A diglycidyl ether (BADGE) or bisphenol F (BFDGE) with reactive diluents, and Part B is an amine hardener; the amine N-H groups add to the oxirane rings and form a cross-linked thermoset, at about 100 % solids or as a water-based grade. Resin and hardener chemistry: epoxy resins and hardeners; industrial builds: epoxy flooring.
  • Polyaspartic: an aliphatic polyisocyanate reacts with a polyaspartic ester, a hindered amine, in a slowed polyurea reaction that Covestro (then Bayer) developed in the early 1990s; products are two-component at 70 to 100 % solids. Isocyanate side: polyurethane resins; class page: polyaspartic and polyurea floor coatings.
  • Aliphatic polyurethane: a polyol cures with an aliphatic polyisocyanate into a flexible, abrasion-resistant film that holds color under UV. Topcoat class: polyurethane floor coatings and topcoats.

Regional and trade names: flake floor, 1-day coating and garage resin floor#

Garage coatings carry five trade names that describe the build, not a standard class. The table below maps each name to its region and meaning.

Name Region Meaning
garage floor coating, epoxy garage floor US any resin system on a garage slab, named after the base resin
1-day polyaspartic US full polyaspartic system with return to service the next day
flake or chip floor US colored flake broadcast into the base and sealed; see decorative resin floors: flake
"poly" US trade polyaspartic polyurea topcoat or system, not polyurea waterproofing membranes
garage resin floor UK FeRFA Type 2 to 4 resin build on a garage slab

A "polyurea garage floor" is therefore a polyaspartic floor coating, not a spray-applied waterproofing membrane.

How Does a Garage Coating System Bond and Cure?#

A garage coating bonds mechanically to a ground concrete profile and cures by reaction: amine hardeners open epoxy rings into a cross-linked thermoset, and hindered polyaspartic esters slow the urea reaction enough for roller work. The slowed reaction leaves time to roll the coating, and the aliphatic backbone gives the cured polyaspartic film its UV stability. The bond itself is mechanical: the resin wets the opened pores of a ground slab and locks into them as it cures, so a smooth or acid-etched surface gives a weak anchor.

Temperature controls both reactions. Epoxy cure roughly halves in rate for every 10 °C (18 °F) drop, and in cold, humid air the amines react with carbon dioxide and moisture to form a carbamate blush on the surface. The topcoat chemistry, not the base, decides UV stability and return to service: an aromatic epoxy film yellows in sunlight, while polyaspartic and aliphatic polyurethane topcoats hold color.

Where Are Garage Floor Coatings Used?#

Garage floor coatings are used on residential concrete slabs on grade, the substrate named on garage system data sheets, in attached garages, detached garages and carports. The slab on grade matters because the IRC 2024 exempts garages and carports from the under-slab vapor retarder.

Parking structures are a different application. Parking decks, ramps and plazas take traffic coatings, a separate system class with its own build, detailing and loads, and a multilevel parking garage is not a residential garage floor. Those systems are described under traffic coatings for parking decks.

Which Properties Decide How a Garage Coating Performs?#

Five properties decide a garage coating's service: adhesion to the slab, abrasion resistance, hardness, UV color stability and resistance to hot-tire pickup, and only the first three have test methods with numbers on data sheets. The table below lists published values from three data sheets, each with its product; the values are not ranked against each other.

Property Test method (as printed) Value Product (data sheet, edition)
Adhesion pull-off, over epoxy primer 2.9 MPa (425 psi) GP4850 polyaspartic (Sherwin-Williams General Polymers PDS, 2018)
Adhesion pull-off more than 1.5 N/mm² (218 psi), failure in concrete Sikafloor-264 N epoxy (PDS 2018-02 v01.01)
Adhesion pull-off more than 2.76 MPa (400 psi), 100 % concrete failure Sikafloor 315 aliphatic polyurethane (PDS 2013-04-26)
Hardness Shore D 69 GP4850 (PDS 2018)
Hardness Shore D, 7 d at 23 °C (73 °F) about 76 Sikafloor-264 N (PDS 2018-02 v01.01)
Abrasion Taber, wheel and load not stated 80 mg GP4850 (PDS 2018)
Abrasion EN ISO 5470-1 as cited, CS10 wheel, 1,000 g, 1,000 cycles about 25 mg Sikafloor-264 N (PDS 2018-02 v01.01)
Abrasion Taber, CS-17 wheel 0.01 to 0.02 g Sikafloor 315 (PDS 2013-04-26)
Tensile as printed 44 MPa (6,400 psi), elongation 6 % GP4850 (PDS 2018)
Compressive EN 13892-2 as cited, 28 d about 58 N/mm² (8,400 psi) Sikafloor-264 N (PDS 2018-02 v01.01)
Impact ASTM D2794 as cited, edition not stated 100 GP4850 (PDS 2018)
UV color stability no numeric test on these sheets aromatic epoxy yellows; polyaspartic low yellowing; aliphatic polyurethane holds color class statements
Hot-tire resistance no standard test non-rigid polyaspartics resist staining and delamination maker statements

Hot-tire pickup, UV yellowing and abrasion#

Hot-tire pickup is the lifting or staining of a coating under warm tires, and non-rigid polyaspartics resist it better than rigid films, although no product guarantees against tire staining. No standard test for hot-tire resistance exists, so the claim rests on maker statements.

UV yellowing separates the three resins. Aromatic epoxies are never truly UV stable and yellow in sunlight, polyaspartic topcoats show good UV stability with low yellowing, and aliphatic polyurethane holds color. Abrasion numbers resist comparison: one sheet reports a Taber loss without wheel or load, a second uses a CS10 wheel at 1,000 g for 1,000 cycles, and a third a CS-17 wheel, so the three values in the table measure different things.

Standard requirement or product value: reading garage coating data sheets#

A garage coating has no class threshold to meet, so every number on its data sheet is a product value, and the only acceptance value here is FeRFA's pull-off guidance of more than 1.5 N/mm² (218 psi). That guidance applies to resin floors tested to BS EN 13892-8:2002, forms the basis of BS 8204-6 and rates such a result as normally satisfactory; it is not an EN 13813 requirement. Product values read differently: GP4850 reports 2.9 MPa (425 psi) measured over an epoxy primer, while Sikafloor-264 N reports more than 1.5 N/mm² (218 psi) with failure in the concrete. A failure in the concrete means the slab, not the coating, gave way.

Which Standards Apply to Garage Floor Coatings in the EU, UK and US?#

No EN, ASTM or ANSI product standard exists for garage floor coatings, so each region uses a neighboring document. In the EU a resin floor is CE-marked as synthetic resin (SR) screed material under EN 13813:2002, cited in OJ C 259 of 2014-08-08; the UK adds the code of practice BS 8204-6:2008+A1:2010 and the FeRFA types; US data sheets cite test methods only. An EU designation reads like SR-B2,0-AR1-IR4, and the CE threshold for SR screed material is a wear class of RWA10 or AR1 or lower, a bond of B1,5 or higher and an impact class of IR4 or higher, as set out under EN 13813 screed materials.

The table below sets the documents side by side by region.

Region Document (edition) Scope Requirement or status
EU EN 13813:2002, cited OJ C 259 (2014-08-08) screed material and floor screeds; resin floors as SR CE threshold for SR: wear RWA10 or AR1 or lower, bond B1,5 or higher, impact IR4 or higher; declaration of performance; current
UK BS 8204-6:2008+A1:2010 code of practice for synthetic resin floorings current; FeRFA Types 2 to 4 cover garage builds (FeRFA, 2025)
UK FeRFA guidance with BS EN 13892-8:2002 pull-off of resin floors more than 1.5 N/mm² (218 psi) normally satisfactory; guidance, not an EN 13813 requirement
US none no ASTM or ANSI product standard for garage coatings data sheets cite test methods
US ASTM D4060-25; ASTM D7234-22 Taber abrasion; pull-off adhesion of coatings on concrete test methods, no pass or fail value
US ASTM F2170-19a; ASTM F1869-23 in-situ relative humidity; moisture vapor emission rate test methods, no pass or fail value; the limit is the coating maker's

Does "meets ASTM" mean a garage coating is certified to a standard?#

No: ASTM D4060-25 (Taber abrasion) and D7234-22 (pull-off adhesion of coatings on concrete with portable testers) are test methods with no pass or fail value, so "meets ASTM" only names the test that produced a product's number. The same holds for slab moisture: ASTM F2170-19a (in-situ relative humidity) and F1869-23 (moisture vapor emission rate) measure the slab, and the coating maker sets the limit.

How do you check a garage coating claim on a data sheet or declaration?#

Five checks turn a brand question into a data-sheet question. The five checks are listed below in reading order.

  1. Find the chemistry of each coat and its volume solids.
  2. Read the thickness per coat as WFT or DFT, and the adhesion basis, where pull-off adhesion testing explains D7234-22 on concrete.
  3. Read every cure time with its temperature and relative humidity.
  4. Read the slab moisture limit and the test it refers to, ASTM F2170-19a or F1869-23.
  5. Read the VOC content with its test method and the SDS for the free isocyanate monomer content; in the EU, ask for the declaration of performance to EN 13813:2002 SR.

How Do You Choose a Garage Floor Coating System?#

Choose a system by three garage conditions, slab moisture, sunlight and how soon the car returns, then by build: epoxy base with a polyaspartic or polyurethane top where build matters, full polyaspartic where the window is one day. Moisture comes first because a garage slab on grade may lack a vapor retarder; sunlight comes second because an aromatic epoxy top yellows; the return window comes third because epoxy and polyaspartic cure at different rates. The table below matches six garage conditions with a system build.

Garage condition System build Why Note
Sunlit floor, door left open epoxy base + polyaspartic or aliphatic polyurethane top aromatic epoxy yellows under UV the aliphatic top holds color
Car back within one day full polyaspartic fast return to service GP4850 (PDS 2018): wheeled traffic after 24 h at 25 °C (77 °F)
Cold season polyaspartic window starts lower GP4850 (PDS 2018) from 1.7 °C (35 °F); Sikafloor-264 N (PDS 2018-02 v01.01) from 10 °C (50 °F)
Slab on grade, retarder unknown moisture test, then moisture mitigation systems for concrete slabs under the system IRC 2024 R506.3.3 exempts garages from the retarder the limit is the coating maker's
Wet or icy entry textured build from slip-resistant resin floors slip at the door zone aggregate in the top coat
Decorative finish flake broadcast into the epoxy base, sealed by the top look and texture nominal 1.0 mm (40 mil) system (Dur-A-Chip standard specification)

The epoxy vs polyaspartic decision, cure speed and UV color against build and adhesion, is set out side by side for all three chemistries under epoxy vs polyaspartic vs polyurea floor coatings.

When is a resin garage coating the wrong system?#

Five garage conditions call for another product class. The five conditions and their product classes are listed below.

  • Damp slab without mitigation: a slab above the coating maker's moisture limit takes moisture mitigation systems for concrete slabs first.
  • Worn or cracked slab: worn flatwork takes concrete resurfacers first, and cracks are treated under concrete floor and slab crack repair before any coat.
  • Bare concrete look wanted: a dusting slab that should stay uncoated takes concrete densifiers.
  • Wet-entry slip concern: a smooth film at a wet door zone gives way to a textured build from slip-resistant resin floors.
  • Asphalt driveway: an asphalt surface is not a concrete slab and lies outside resin floor products.

How Is a Garage Floor Coating Applied? Preparation, Moisture, Build and Cure#

A garage floor coating is applied under four controlled conditions: surface profile, slab moisture, film thickness per coat, and the temperature and dew-point window during cure. Two of the recorded failure modes, delamination over a damp slab and peeling of acid-etched floors, start below the coating, before any chemistry acts. The table below lists the preparation and substrate requirements of four data sheets.

Product (data sheet, edition) Preparation or substrate requirement
GP4850 polyaspartic (PDS 2018) mechanical preparation to CSP 3, no acid etching; slab on grade needs a vapor or moisture barrier; over epoxy abrade with 60 to 80 grit, over an existing resin floor 36 grit
Dur-A-Chip flake system (standard specification) concrete moist cured at least 7 days and at least 28 days old before coating, per ACI 308 as cited
Sikafloor-264 N epoxy (PDS 2018-02 v01.01) substrate compressive strength at least 25 N/mm² (3,630 psi), pull-off at least 1.5 N/mm² (218 psi); laitance removed by abrasive blasting or planing
Sikafloor 315 aliphatic polyurethane (PDS 2013-04-26) slab RH at most 85 % by ASTM F2170, otherwise moisture mitigation

Grinding to CSP 3 instead of acid etching#

Mechanical grinding or blasting to concrete surface profile CSP 3 prepares a garage slab, and acid etching is not used, because acid-etched floors are a recorded cause of peeling. CSP 3 measures 11 ± 2 mil (0.28 mm) on the ICRI comparison chips by the ASTM D8271-26 depth-micrometer method. FeRFA guidance names blasting, planing and grinding as the mechanical methods and does not recommend acid etching.

Grinding releases the respirable silica covered in the safety section. The ten profile numbers of concrete surface profile and the chip comparison method are explained under concrete surface profile (CSP 1 to 10).

Slab moisture and the garage exemption from under-slab vapor retarders#

The International Residential Code 2024, Section R506.3.3, calls for a vapor retarder under slabs but exempts garages and carports, so a garage slab may have no retarder below it. The section requires a polyethylene or approved vapor retarder at least 152 µm (6 mil; 0.006 in) thick, with joints lapped at least 152 mm (6 in), between the slab and the base course or prepared subgrade. Its exceptions are garages, unheated accessory structures, unheated storage rooms under 6.5 m² (70 ft²), carports, flatwork, and cases approved by the building official.

A coating on such a slab meets moisture from below. The coating maker sets the moisture condition, and the preparation table lists one barrier requirement and one relative-humidity limit with their products. ASTM F2170-19a (in-situ relative humidity) and F1869-23 (moisture vapor emission rate) are the two test methods; neither sets a pass or fail value, so the limit is always the product maker's.

Where the slab exceeds the limit, a moisture mitigation membrane goes under the system: ASTM F3010-24 (two-component) and F3513-24 (one-component) membranes reach 0.10 perm or less by ASTM E96 Procedure B, and F3010-24 adds a tensile bond of at least 1.38 MPa (200 psi) with failure in the concrete. Both procedures of concrete moisture testing, the in-situ probe and the calcium chloride dish, are covered under concrete moisture testing.

Film thickness and coverage per coat: WFT, DFT and volume solids#

Theoretical coverage follows from one identity: 1,604 ft² per US gallon at 1 mil DFT and 100 % volume solids, or m²/L = 1,000 × volume solids ÷ DFT in µm. Dry film thickness equals wet film thickness times volume solids, so a wet-film gauge reading converts to DFT once the volume solids are known. Practical coverage equals theoretical coverage times (1 − loss), where the loss is a project value for profile, roller and waste; data sheets state theoretical figures. The table below lists thickness and theoretical coverage per coat for four products.

Product (data sheet, edition) Coat Thickness (WFT/DFT) Theoretical coverage Basis
Sikafloor-264 N epoxy (PDS 2018-02 v01.01) roller coat consumption basis, film not stated 0.3 to 0.4 kg/m² (0.06 to 0.08 lb/ft²) per coat theoretical, per coat
Sikafloor-264 N epoxy (PDS 2018-02 v01.01) seal coat over broadcast consumption basis, film not stated 0.6 to 0.8 kg/m² (0.12 to 0.16 lb/ft²) per coat theoretical, per coat
GP4850 polyaspartic (PDS 2018) per coat 150 to 375 µm (6 to 15 mil) WFT = 5.6 to 14.1 mil DFT at 94 % volume solids 106 ft²/gal (2.67 m²/L) at 15 mil WFT theoretical, spread per wet mil
GP4850 polyaspartic, worked row one coat 254 µm (10 mil) WFT = 238.8 µm (9.4 mil) DFT 3.94 m²/L (160.4 ft²/gal) calculated, wet basis, no loss
Sikafloor 315 aliphatic polyurethane (PDS 2013-04-26) topcoat, per coat 3 to 3.5 mil (76 to 89 µm) WFT = 2.7 to 3.1 mil (about 70 to 80 µm) DFT 11.2 m²/L (458 ft²/gal) theoretical, per coat
Dur-A-Chip flake system (standard specification) full system nominal 1.0 mm (40 mil), WFT or DFT not stated not stated system build

Theoretical values, no loss; concrete primers for coatings and resin floors where the data sheet calls for one; compute other builds with the epoxy and coating coverage calculator.

Worked example (GP4850, one coat): the inputs are a wet film of 254 µm (10 mil) and 94 % volume solids. Theoretical coverage is 1,000 ÷ 254 = 3.94 m²/L (1,604 ÷ 10 = 160.4 ft²/gal) on the wet basis, and the dry film is 254 × 0.94 = 238.8 µm (9.4 mil). With an assumed project loss of 10 %, practical coverage is 0.9 × 3.94 = 3.55 m²/L (0.9 × 160.4 = 144.4 ft²/gal).

Temperature, dew point and return to service by product#

GP4850 is applied at 1.7 to 49 °C (35 to 120 °F) substrate temperature, at most 85 % RH and at least 2.8 °C (5 °F) above the dew point. At 25 °C (77 °F) the same polyaspartic takes foot traffic after 6 hours and wheeled traffic after 24 hours. ISO 8502-4:2017 sets the general margin at 3 °C (5.4 °F) between the surface and the dew point, measured on the substrate, not in the air, and US data sheets round it to 5 °F. Resin floor cure slows below 10 °C (50 °F), and a slab can be 10 °C (18 °F) colder than the air above it, so the slab temperature sets the window (FeRFA guide). FeRFA guidance at 15 to 20 °C (59 to 68 °F) allows 1 to 3 days before significant traffic and 3 to 7 days before wet cleaning, chemicals or heavy traffic.

The table below lists pot life, recoat window and traffic times by temperature for three products.

Product (data sheet, edition) Temperature Pot life Recoat Foot traffic Wheels or full cure
GP4850 polyaspartic (PDS 2018), 10 mil wet 2 °C (35 °F), 50 % RH working time 15 min not stated touch 2 h not stated
GP4850 polyaspartic (PDS 2018), 10 mil wet 25 °C (77 °F), 55 % RH 20 to 25 min 6 to 36 h 6 h (touch 1 h) wheeled 24 h
Sikafloor-264 N epoxy (PDS 2018-02 v01.01) 10 °C (50 °F) about 50 min 30 h to 3 d about 30 h full cure about 7 d
Sikafloor-264 N epoxy (PDS 2018-02 v01.01) 20 °C (68 °F) about 25 min 24 to 48 h about 24 h full cure about 5 d
Sikafloor-264 N epoxy (PDS 2018-02 v01.01) 30 °C (86 °F) about 15 min 16 to 24 h about 16 h full cure about 3 d
Sikafloor 315 aliphatic polyurethane (PDS 2013-04-26) 10 °C (50 °F) about 50 min 24 h to 3 d about 24 h full cure about 10 d
Sikafloor 315 aliphatic polyurethane (PDS 2013-04-26) 20 °C (68 °F) about 25 min 8 h to 2 d about 12 h full cure about 7 d
Sikafloor 315 aliphatic polyurethane (PDS 2013-04-26) 30 °C (86 °F) about 15 min 6 h to 1 d about 6 h full cure about 5 d

Dew-point margin per ISO 8502-4:2017: check it with the dew point calculator for coating application.

How Are Garage Coatings Inspected, and Why Do They Fail?#

Garage coatings fail in five recorded ways: delamination over a damp slab, peeling of acid-etched floors, hot-tire pickup, UV yellowing of epoxy topcoats, and intercoat failure when a recoat window is missed. Lap lines from a short pot life and amine blush in cold, humid air add two surface defects.

Three checks catch these failures before and after the work: a slab moisture test before coating, a wet-film gauge on each coat, and a pull-off test of the finished system or a test patch. None of the three methods sets a pass or fail value; the acceptance figure comes from the specification or the data sheet. A water-wipe test for blush before each recoat, with removal by warm water and detergent and abrasion where the recoat window has passed, prevents the intercoat failure in the table. Test setups, dollies and failure codes for a pull-off test are covered under pull-off adhesion testing.

The table below links each failure with its cause and the check that prevents it.

Failure Cause Check
Delamination over a damp slab no under-slab retarder, no mitigation moisture test before coating
Peeling acid-etched or unprofiled slab mechanical profile to the data-sheet CSP, profile check
Hot-tire pickup rigid film, soft topcoat or weak bond topcoat choice and profile
UV yellowing aromatic epoxy as the top layer aliphatic polyaspartic or polyurethane top
Amine blush amine + carbon dioxide + moisture in cold, humid air water-wipe test before recoat; see amine blush on epoxy
Osmotic blistering thin systems (FeRFA Types 1 to 5, up to about 6 mm (0.24 in)) over damp slabs moisture test; see outgassing and blistering in concrete floor coatings
Lap lines short pot life, large or warm batches batch size matched to pot life
Intercoat failure recoat window missed recoat inside the data-sheet window, or abrade
Reflective cracking moving joints and cracks under the film joints filled with semi-rigid joint fillers for industrial floors

What Health, Safety and VOC Rules Apply to Garage Floor Coatings?#

Garage coating systems carry two sensitizer groups, epoxy resins with amine hardeners and the isocyanate side of polyaspartic and polyurethane topcoats, plus respirable crystalline silica from grinding the slab. The table below lists each hazard with its rule or classification and the instrument and date.

Topic Rule or classification Instrument and date
Liquid epoxy resin (CAS 25068-38-6, EC 500-033-5) Harmonised CLP Annex VI (index 603-074-00-8): H315, H317, H319, H411; formulated products: see the product SDS CLP Annex VI; ECHA CHEM, checked 2026-10-22
Amine hardeners IPDA (index 612-067-00-9): H302, H314, H318, H317; TETA (index 612-059-00-5): H312, H314, H317, H412; Part B: see the product SDS CLP Annex VI (IPDA entry by ATP17, Regulation (EU) 2021/849)
Epoxy-amine systems REACH Annex XVII entry 74 does not apply REACH Annex XVII
HDI monomer (CAS 822-06-0) index 615-011-00-1: H331, H335, H315, H319, H334, H317 CLP Annex VI
HDI oligomers (CAS 28182-81-2) no Annex VI entry; classified by monomer content; see the product SDS ECHA C&L notifications
Diisocyanate training 0.1 % by weight or more: training before industrial or professional use since 2023-08-24, renewed at least every 5 years; label statement since 2022-02-24 REACH Annex XVII entry 74, Regulation (EU) 2020/1149
EU diisocyanate exposure limit 6 µg NCO/m³ 8-h TWA, STEL 12 µg NCO/m³; transitional 10 and 20 µg NCO/m³ until 2028-12-31 Directive (EU) 2024/869, transposition by 2026-04-09
HDI in the US no OSHA PEL; NIOSH REL TWA 0.005 ppm, ceiling 0.020 ppm (10 min) NIOSH Pocket Guide
Respirable crystalline silica PEL 50 µg/m³ 8-h TWA, action level 25 µg/m³; floor grinders with integrated water or a dust collector of at least 99 % filter efficiency (Table 1 (xiii)) OSHA 29 CFR 1926.1153, effective 2016-06-23

Epoxy resin and amine hardener hazards#

Skin sensitization is the main occupational hazard of epoxy systems: liquid epoxy resin (CAS 25068-38-6, EC 500-033-5) carries "Harmonised CLP Annex VI (index 603-074-00-8): H315, H317, H319, H411". Amine hardener parts add their own entries: isophorone diamine (IPDA, index 612-067-00-9) carries H302, H314, H318 and H317, with a specific concentration limit of 0.001 % for skin sensitization, and triethylenetetramine (TETA, index 612-059-00-5) carries H312, H314, H317 and H412; for a given Part B, see the product SDS. REACH Annex XVII entry 74 does not apply to epoxy-amine systems.

Isocyanates in polyaspartic and polyurethane topcoats#

Polyaspartic and polyurethane topcoats contain aliphatic polyisocyanates, and REACH Annex XVII entry 74 (Regulation (EU) 2020/1149) requires documented training before industrial or professional use since 2023-08-24 where diisocyanates reach 0.1 % by weight. The threshold counts diisocyanates individually and in combination, the supplier label statement has applied since 2022-02-24, and the training is renewed at least every five years.

Monomeric hexamethylene diisocyanate (HDI, index 615-011-00-1) carries H331, H335, H315, H319, H334 and H317. HDI oligomers (CAS 28182-81-2), the hardener in polyaspartic and aliphatic topcoats, have no Annex VI entry and are classified by their monomer content; see the product SDS, and entry 74 applies at 0.1 % or more free monomer. Directive (EU) 2024/869 sets an EU limit of 6 µg NCO/m³ (8-hour TWA), transitional 10 µg NCO/m³ until 2028-12-31. HDI has no OSHA PEL; the NIOSH REL is 0.005 ppm (0.035 mg/m³) TWA with a 10-minute ceiling of 0.020 ppm (0.140 mg/m³). Training levels and exposure limits are detailed under diisocyanates rules: REACH entry 74 training.

Respirable crystalline silica from grinding#

Grinding a garage slab releases respirable crystalline silica, which OSHA 29 CFR 1926.1153 limits to 50 µg/m³ as an 8-hour TWA, with an action level of 25 µg/m³, in force since 2016-06-23. Table 1, entry (xiii), covers floor grinders: the grinder needs integrated water delivery or a dust collector with at least 99 % filter efficiency. Quartz (crystalline silica) itself has no Annex VI entry and no hazard statement in a majority of ECHA C&L notifications; for a silica-bearing product, see the product SDS.

VOC limits for garage floor coatings by jurisdiction#

Floor coatings are capped at 50 g/L (0.42 lb/gal) in the South Coast AQMD (Rule 1113, amended 2016-02-05) and at 400 g/L (3.3 lb/gal) under the federal EPA AIM rule for coatings made since 1999-09-13. The table below lists the three limits and two product values.

Jurisdiction Category Limit g/L (lb/gal) Effective / amendment
South Coast AQMD, Rule 1113 Floor Coatings 50 (0.42), less water and exempt compounds rule amended 2016-02-05; small container exemption applies
US EPA AIM, 40 CFR 59 subpart D, Table 1 Floor coatings 400 (3.3) coatings manufactured on or after 1999-09-13 (40 CFR 59.400(a))
EU, Directive 2004/42/EC Annex II A (j) two-pack reactive performance coatings for floors water-based 140 (1.17); solvent-based 500 (4.17) Phase II since 2010-01-01
GP4850 polyaspartic (PDS 2018), product value mixed product, EPA Method 24 less than 10 (0.08) data-sheet value
Sikafloor 315 aliphatic polyurethane (PDS 2013-04-26), product value ASTM D2369 as cited at most 100 (0.83) with wear aggregate; at most 50 (0.42) with color add only data-sheet value

In the EU, Directive 2004/42/EC Annex II A category (j) caps water-based products at 140 g/L (1.17 lb/gal) and solvent-based products at 500 g/L (4.17 lb/gal) since Phase II on 2010-01-01. Both product values in the table sit at or below the South Coast cap, and limits for other product categories are compared under VOC limits for construction chemicals.

How Much Does a Garage Floor Coating Cost?#

An installed garage epoxy floor costs USD 83.74 to 136.81 per m² (USD 7.78 to 12.71 per ft²) in the US, scope "installed, national average", in the Homewyse cost guide dated 2026-05. That range covers garage epoxy only; the system, the slab and the region change the figure.

A 2026 vendor page by Armor Garage lists installed polyaspartic at USD 75.35 to 129.17 per m² (USD 7 to 12 per ft²) and installed polyurea at USD 53.82 to 107.64 per m² (USD 5 to 10 per ft²). The table below lists each dated range with its scope, region and source type.

Item Range, USD per m² (per ft²) Scope Region Date Source type
Garage epoxy 83.74 to 136.81 (7.78 to 12.71) installed, national average US 2026-05 cost guide (Homewyse)
Residential garage epoxy 53.82 to 96.88 (5 to 9) installed US 2026 vendor page (Armor Garage)
Kits 11.63 to 28.63 (1.08 to 2.66) DIY kits (vendor's own) US 2026 vendor page (Armor Garage)
Polyaspartic 75.35 to 129.17 (7 to 12) installed US 2026 vendor page (Armor Garage)
Polyurea 53.82 to 107.64 (5 to 10) installed US 2026 vendor page (Armor Garage)
Flake system 64.58 to 107.64 (6 to 10) installed, commercial system ladder, 50,000 ft² (4,645 m²) basis US, Dallas-Fort Worth 2026-10 contractor page (Legacy Industrial Coatings)
Moisture mitigation add-on 32.29 to 86.11 (3 to 8) installed, same 50,000 ft² (4,645 m²) basis US, Dallas-Fort Worth 2026-10 contractor page (Legacy Industrial Coatings)
Crack repair USD 9.84 to 32.81 per linear m (USD 3 to 10 per linear ft) installed US, Dallas-Fort Worth 2026-10 contractor page (Legacy Industrial Coatings)

Installed and kit prices from US cost guides, vendor pages and one contractor page, each with its date.

Three items move a garage price beyond the base range: a moisture mitigation layer under the system, crack repair priced per linear meter, and the system build itself, from a plain epoxy to flake and full polyaspartic. The commercial rows in the table come from a 50,000 ft² (4,645 m²) basis and show the add-ons, not a garage total. Epoxy, flake, quartz and other systems are priced side by side under epoxy and resin flooring cost.

What Are the Alternatives to a Resin Garage Floor Coating?#

Five product classes replace a resin garage coating where the slab, the look or the budget rules one out: densified or polished concrete, film-forming sealers, moisture mitigation under a coating, resurfacers and slip-resistant resin builds. The table below compares the five alternatives by chemistry and the condition in which each wins.

Alternative Chemistry When it wins Link
Polished concrete grinding, densifier, guard bare look, no film; USD 32.29 to 161.46 per m² (USD 3 to 15 per ft²), installed, US, This Old House, 2026-04 polished concrete floors; concrete densifiers
Film-forming sealer acrylic, epoxy or polyurethane thin film lighter protection at a thinner build film-forming concrete sealers; concrete sealers
Moisture mitigation under the coating two-component or one-component membrane, 0.10 perm or less (ASTM F3010-24, F3513-24) slab above the coating maker's moisture limit see the selection table
Resurfacer cementitious topping worn flatwork before or instead of a coating see the wrong-system list
Slip-resistant resin build resin with broadcast aggregate wet or icy entry see the wrong-system list

An asphalt driveway is a different surface: sealing asphalt pavement is a separate topic, not covered by resin floor products.

Garage Coating Kits, Professional Systems, Packaging and Sourcing#

Garage coatings are sold as two-component kits for one garage and as professional multi-coat systems in separate base, flake and topcoat units, and buyers compare them on build, solids, cure window, moisture limit and VOC, not on the brand.

A buyer reads the data sheets of construction chemicals manufacturers and suppliers line by line, and the method for every product family is set out under construction chemicals manufacturers and suppliers.

The five buyer checks are listed below.

  • Build per coat: thickness as WFT or DFT, and the total system build.
  • Volume solids: the figure that converts wet film to dry film and sets theoretical coverage.
  • Cure window: pot life, recoat and return to service, each with its temperature and RH.
  • Moisture limit: the RH or MVER limit with its method, ASTM F2170-19a or F1869-23.
  • VOC and isocyanate content: VOC with its method against the 50 g/L, 400 g/L or EU (j) limit that applies, and the SDS monomer content of the isocyanate part.

Where Does a Garage Coating Fit Among Resin Floor Systems?#

A garage coating is the residential end of the resin floor family: it uses FeRFA Type 2 to 4 builds of the same epoxy, polyaspartic and polyurethane chemistries that industrial floors use at greater thickness. Industrial floors extend to FeRFA Type 8, heavy-duty floors over 6 mm (0.24 in), while garage builds stop at Type 4. Thin systems, FeRFA Types 1 to 5 up to about 6 mm (0.24 in), are the builds at risk of osmotic blistering on damp slabs, which places every garage build in that group and makes the moisture test a fixed step.

Screed drying accelerators and other concrete mix additions belong to concrete technology rather than to the coating.

Garage floor coating FAQs#

The four answers below start with the short answer in bold.

Is epoxy or polyaspartic the better garage floor topcoat?#

Neither wins outright: polyaspartic tops cure faster and hold color in sunlight, while epoxy bases build thickness and adhesion, which is why the standard garage build combines both.

The full epoxy vs polyaspartic comparison is set out under epoxy vs polyaspartic vs polyurea floor coatings.

Can you put epoxy over an existing epoxy garage floor?#

Yes, after abrasion: the GP4850 data sheet calls for sanding with 60 to 80 grit over epoxy and 36 grit over an existing resin floor.

Any blush on the old surface is removed first, and a pull-off test patch confirms the bond before the full recoat.

Can polyaspartic go directly on bare garage concrete?#

Yes for GP4850, on concrete ground to CSP 3; its published adhesion of 2.9 MPa (425 psi) was measured over an epoxy primer.

On a slab on grade, the moisture barrier condition in the preparation table still applies.

Does a garage floor coating need a professional applicator?#

Kits exist for single garages, but grinding with silica controls, moisture testing and, in the EU, diisocyanate training for professional users decide whether the owner or a contractor applies a system.

How scopes and quotes from epoxy and industrial flooring contractors are compared is set out on that page.